IPSR Faculty & Staff

Dr. Steven Maynard-Moody
Director
Professor, School of Public Affairs & Administration
s-maynardmoody@ku.edu
Susan Mercer
Associate Director
smercer@ku.edu
Loren Bennesch
Grant Development Officer
lorenb@ku.edu
Dr. Hannah Britton
Director, Center for International Political Analysis
Associate Professor, Political Science
britton@ku.edu
Dr. Dietrich Earnhart
Director, Center for Environmental Policy
Professor, Economics
earnhart@ku.edu
Dr. Donna Ginther
Director, Center for Science, Technology & Economic Policy
Professor, Economics
dginther@ku.edu
Erika Hane
Research Assistant
Dr. Larry Hoyle
Computer Services/Senior Scientist
larryhoyle@ku.edu
Genna Hurd
Co-Director, KU Entrepreneurship Works for Kansas
Research Associate
ghurd@ku.edu
Dr. Jay T. Johnson
Director, Indigenous Geographies Research Center
Assistant Professor, Geography
jaytjohnson@ku.edu
Emily Kennedy
Project Coordinator
ejkennedy@ku.edu
Nancy Cayton Myers
Grant Development Coordinator
ncmyers@ku.edu
Dr. Joane Nagel
Director, Center for Research on Global Change
Distinguished Professor, Sociology
nagel@ku.edu
Ann Ngwira
Research Assistant
Whitney Onasch
Administrative Associate
wonasch@ku.edu
Pat Oslund
Research Economist/Research Associate
poslund@ku.edu
Natalie Parker
C-CHANGE Project Coordinator
ncparker@ku.edu
Jiaxi Quan
KC-AERC Database Manager
jquan@ku.edu
Judy Schrick
Accountant I
jschrick@ku.edu
Laura Kriegstrom Stull
Graphic Designer/Research Assistant
Events Coordinator
lstull@ku.edu
Charles Vannice
Research Assistant
Xanthippe Wedel
Information Specialist
xan@ku.edu
Travis Weller
Project Coordinator, BACC: FLUD Project
weller@ku.edu
Alyse Zadalis
Project Coordinator, BACC: FLUD Project
alyse.zadalis@ku.edu

Affiliated KU Faculty

Dr. Elif Andac
Assistant Professor, Sociology
andac@ku.edu
Dr. Barbara Anthony-Twarog
Professor, Physics and Astronomy
bjat@ku.edu
Dr. Ronald Ash
Professor, School of Business
rash@ku.edu
Dr. Elizabeth Asiedu
Associate Professor, Economics
asiedu@ku.edu
Charlie Bankart
Assistant Vice Provost, International Programs
cbankart@ku.edu
Dr. Barbara Barnett
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor, School of Journalism
barnettb@ku.edu
Dr. Nancy Baym
Professor, Communication Studies
nbaym@ku.edu
Dr. Christina Bejarano
Assistant Professor, Political Science
cbejaran@ku.edu
Dr. Sharon Billings
Associate Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
sharonb@ku.edu
Dr. Melissa Birch
Associate Professor, School of Business
mhbirch@ku.edu
Dr. George Bittlingmeyer
Distinguished Professor, School of Business
bittlingmayer@ku.edu
Dr. David Braaten
Professor, Geography/Atmospheric Science
Deputy Director, Center for Remote Sensing of Ice Sheets CReSIS
braaten@ku.edu
Dr. Karl Brooks
Associate Professor, History and Environmental Studies
kbrooks@ku.edu
Dr. J. Christopher Brown
Director, Environmental Studies Program
Associate Professor, Geography and Environmental Studies
jcbrown2@ku.edu
Dr. Ronald Caldwell
Assistant Professor, Economics
rcald@ku.edu
Dr. J. William Carswell
Associate Professor, School of Architecture, Design & Urban Planning
jwc@ku.edu
Dr. So-Min Cheong
Assistant Professor, Geography
somin@ku.edu
Dr. Kelly H. Chong
Associate Professor, Sociology
kchong@ku.edu
Dr. Christian Crandall
Professor, Social Psychology
crandall@ku.edu
Dr. Shannon Criss
Associate Professor, School of Architecture, Design & Urban Planning
scriss@ku.edu
Dr. Gregory Cushman
Associate Professor, History
gcushman@ku.edu
Dr. Dorothy Daley
Associate Professor, Political Science
daley@ku.edu
Dr. Derrick Darby
Associate Professor, Philosophy
ddarby@ku.edu
Dr. Leisha Dehart-Davis
Associate Professor, School of Public Affairs & Administration
lddavis@ku.edu
Dr. Alexander Diener
Assistant Professor, Geography
diener@ku.edu
Dr. Alesha Doan
Associate Professor, Political Science
adoan@ku.edu
Dr. Jerome Dobson
Professor, Geography
dobson@ku.edu
Dr. Arienne Dwyer
Associate Professor, Anthropology
anthlinguist@ku.edu
Dr. William Elliott III
Assistant Professor, School of Social Welfare
welliott@ku.edu
Ada Emmett
Scholarly Communication Librarian, KU Libraries
aemmett@ku.edu
Dr. Charles R. Epp
Professor, School of Public Affairs & Administration
chuckepp@ku.edu
Dr. Johannes Feddema
Professor, Geography
feddema@ku.edu
Dr. Ruben Flores
Assistant Professor, American Studies
flores@ku.edu
Dr. Jacob Fowles
Assistant Professor, School of Public Affairs & Administration
jacob.fowles@ku.edu
Dr. Michael Fox
Professor, Health Policy & Management
mfox2@kumc.edu
Dr. H. George Frederickson
Distinguished Professor, School of Public Affairs & Administration
gfred@ku.edu
Dr. Alison Gabriele
Associate Professor, Linguistics
gabriele@ku.edu
Dr. Mugur Geana
Assistant Professor, School of Journalism
geanam@ku.edu
Dr. Heather Getha-Taylor
Assistant Professor, School of Public Affairs & Administration
hgtaylor@ku.edu
Dr. Jane Gibson
Professor, Anthropology
jwgc@ku.edu
Dr. Holly Goerdel
Associate Professor, School of Public Affairs & Administration
hgoerdel@ku.edu
Dr. Marilu Goodyear
Director and Associate Professor, School of Public Affairs & Administration
goodyear@ku.edu
Dr. Anna Hagen
Coordinator, Pharmaceutical Chemistry
hagena@ku.edu
Dr. Don Haider-Markel
Professor, Political Science
dhmarkel@ku.edu
Dr. Richard Hale
Associate Professor, Aerospace Engineering
rhale@ku.edu
Dr. Eric Hanley
Associate Professor, Sociology
hanley@ku.edu
Dr. Allan Hanson
Professor, Anthropology
hanson@ku.edu
Dr. Alfred Tat-Kei Ho
Associate Professor, School of Public Affairs & Administration
alfredho@ku.edu
Dr. John Hoopes
Associate Professor, Anthropology
hoopes@ku.edu
Dr. Bonnie Johnson
Assistant Professor, School of Architecture & Urban Planning
bojojohn@ku.edu
Dr. Ted Juhl
Associate Professor, Economics
juhl@ku.edu
Dr. John Keating
Associate Professor, Economics
jkeating@ku.edu
Dr. John Kennedy
Associate Professor, Political Science
kennedy1@ku.edu
Dr. Ronna Chamberlain
Social Welfare Administration
ronnac@ku.edu
Dr. ChangHwan Kim
Assistant Professor, Sociology
chkim@ku.edu
Dr. Dongbin Kim
Associate Professor, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
dbkim@ku.edu
Leigh Anne Taylor Knight
Program Director, KC-AERC
lknight@ku.edu
Dr. Charles Krider
Professor, School of Business
ckrider@ku.edu
Dr. Leonard Krishtalka
Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Director, Natural History Museum and Biodiversity Research Center
krishtalka@ku.edu
Dr. Michael Lynch
Assistant Professor, Political Science
mlynch@ku.edu
Dr. Pym Manopimoke
Assistant Professor, Economics
pymm@ku.edu
Dr. Janet Marquis
Director, Research Design and Analysis Unit of the Schiefelbusch Institute for Lifespan Studies
jmarquis@ku.edu
Dr. Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett
Director of University Honors Program
Professor, Psychology
kamf@ku.edu
Rick McMullen
Director of Research Computing and Senior Scientist, Research and Graduate Studies
mcmullend@ku.edu
Dr. Lori Messinger
Associate Professor, Social Welfare
lorim@ku.edu
Dr. Brent Metz
Associate Professor, Anthropology
bmetz@ku.edu
Wallace W. Meyer, Jr.
Director of Entrepreneurship Programs, School of Business
wmeyerjr@ku.edu
Dr. James Mielke
Associate Dean, CLAS and Anthropology
Professor, Anthropology
mielke@ku.edu
Dr. Sanjay Mishra
Associate Professor, School of Business
smishra@ku.edu
Dr. Ludwin Molina
Assistant Professor, Social Psychology
ludwin@ku.edu
Amalia Monroe-Gulick
Assistant Librarian, Libraries-General
almonroe@ku.edu
Dr. Lou Mulligan
Professor, School of Law
lumen@ku.edu
Dr. John Nalbandian
Professor, School of Public Affairs & Administration
nalband@ku.edu
Dr. Jennifer Ng
Associate Professor, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
jcng@ku.edu
Dr. Ebenezer Obadare
Associate Professor, Sociology
obadare@ku.edu
Dr. Shannon O’Lear
Associate Professor, Geography and Environmental Studies
olear@ku.edu
Dr. Mariya Omelicheva
Assistant Professor, Political Science
omeliche@ku.edu
Dr. Margaret Wickens Pearce
Assistant Professor, Geography
margaret.pearce@ku.edu
Dr. A. Townsend Peterson
Distinguished Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
town@ku.edu
Julie Petr
Assistant Librarian, Libraries-General
jpetr@ku.edu
Bart Redford
Assistant to the Director, Center for Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies
bredford@ku.edu
Dr. Gary Reich
Associate Professor, Political Science
greich@ku.edu
Dr. Amanda Reichard
Research Director, Research and Training Center on Independent Living
areichard@ku.edu
Dr. Katie Rhine
Assistant Professor, Anthropology
krhine@ku.edu
Dr. Joshua L. Rosenbloom
Professor, Economics
jrosenbloom@ku.edu
Dr. Robert Rowland
Professor, Communication Studies
rrowland@ku.edu
Dr. Tracy Russo
Associate Professor, Communication Studies
trusso@ku.edu
Dr. Argun Saatcioglu
Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
argun@ku.edu
Dr. Tarun Sabarwal
Assistant Professor, Economics
sabarwal@ku.edu
Dr. Christian Schöeneich
Takeru Higuchi Distinguished Professor and Chair, Pharmaceutical Chemistry
schoneic@ku.edu
Dr. Hyunjin Seo
Assistant Professor, Journalism and Mass Communications
hseo@ku.edu
Dr. Elaine Sharp
Professor, Political Science
esharp@ku.edu
Dr. Prakash Shenoy
Distinguished Professor, School of Business
pshenoy@ku.edu
Dr. Surendra Singh
Southwestern Bell Professor and Director of Marketing,
Entrepreneurship and Business Law, School of Business
ssingh@ku.edu
Dr. Val H. Smith
Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
vsmith@ku.edu
Dr. Jorge Soberon
Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
jsoberon@ku.edu
Dr. Joey Sprague
Professor, Sociology
jsprague@ku.edu
Dr. William Staples
Professor, Sociology
staples@ku.edu
Dr. Brent Steele
Associate Professor, Political Science
bjsteele@ku.edu
Dr. Donald Steeples
Distinguished Professor, Geology
don@ku.edu
Dr. Koleman Strumpf
Koch Professor of Economics, School of Business
cigar@ku.edu
Dr. Belinda McSwain Sturm
Assistant Professor, Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering
bmcswain@ku.edu
Dr. Kimberly A. B. Swanson
Associate Professor of French
kswanson@ku.edu
Dr. Akiko Takeyama
Assistant Professor, Anthropology and Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies
takeyama@ku.edu
Dr. Barbara Timmermann
Distinguished Professor, Medicinal Chemistry
btimmer@ku.edu
Dr. Harold Torrence
Associate Professor, Linguistics
torrence@ku.edu
Dr. Rodolfo Torres
Associate Vice Chancellor, Research and Graduate Studies
Professor, Mathematics
torres@ku.edu
Dr. Kees van der Veen
Professor, Geography
cjvdv@ku.edu
Dr. Jessica Vasquez
Assistant Professor, Sociology
vasquez@ku.edu
Dr. Thomas Volek
Associate Professor, School of Journalism
twvolek@ku.edu
Dr. Nina Vyatkina
Assistant Professor, Germanic Languages and Literatures
vyatkina@ku.edu
Dr. Glen White
Professor, Applied Behavioral Science
glen@ku.edu
Dr. Stacey S. White
Associate Professor, School of Architecture, Design & Urban Planning
sswhite@ku.edu
Dr. Donald Worster
Distinguished Professor, History
dworster@ku.edu
Dr. Corey Yung
Associate Professor, School of Law
coreyyung@ku.edu
Dr. Mary Zimmerman
Professor, Health Policy and Management
mzimmerman@ku.edu
Dr. Michael Zogry
Director, Indigenous Studies
mzogry@ku.edu

Student Employees

Dustin DeMayo
Research Assistant
DustinDeMayo@ku.edu
David McKinney
Graduate Research Assistant
matney@ku.edu
Anna Tatarko
Student Receptionist
atatarko@ku.edu




One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today